One can say that many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws. In some sense, this argument is reasonable in that laws are not the fundamental tool for managing people.

One can say that many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws. In some sense, this argument is reasonable in that laws are not the fundamental tool for managing people. However, I still believe that many problems can be managed by legal system.

Of course, laws cannot change what is in people’s hearts or mind, so it seems that regulation by laws is not a fundamental solution to any problem. Unless we can alter individual’s innate perspective or thought, a government never free the danger from violation. As a common example, we can easily observe people who break the traffic laws despite of the series of educations, monitoring, and fines, and this illustrates people always have possibility to commit crime if they want.

However, laws can regulate people behavior with firm restrictions and regulations. Laws forbid a ton of unacceptable behave in the society such as murder or robbing and give penalty accordance with seriousness of each crime. Consequently, normal people cannot but behave in accordance with legal requirements, in the meanwhile only few commit crimes with high risk. In this regard, laws are the most powerful tool to maintain social stability.

Moreover, legal system is effective to form ideal society which ensures equality and welfare. In modern society with capitalism where everything works in the law of money, most problems originated from its innate inequality aspects. In this situation, legal system guarantees fair competition by forbidding unjust manipulation, confirms minimum level of living by giving subsidy. These systems bridge the gap between the rich and the poor and warrant that anyone can climb of the social strata, suggesting promising implication to solve modern problems.

In sum, despite its limitation, laws are the most effective way to set boundary of people’s behavior and engender equal social system. Therefore, we can say that laws and legal system are the promising keys for faced problems in modern society.