Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “Video games offer benefits to children.” Provide reason and examples to support your stance.

One may say that video games offer benefits to children because games give chances to relieve stress. If children can control well themselves, video games would not be harmful to students. However, In many cases, students who lack the ability of self-discipline are susceptible to side effects of video games.

First and foremost, video games deteriorate children’s mind and mental health. Many video games involve violence actions that clearly are not acceptable in real worlds. However, innocent young children who are too immature to make right decisions are likely to imitate the behaviors in video games. Three years ago, an eleven years old American boy captured by police officers while driving his parent’s car with incredibly fast speed. He said that he got curious about driving a sports car after playing a car racing game. This event shocked many people, yet more surprisingly, this is not an abnormal accident. We can easily find similar happenings conducted by children who are captivated by a violent game world.

Moreover, video games impair children’s physical health considering that adolescence is a crucial period for human beings to grow up with sufficient nutrients and regular exercise. However, many video games do not require movements using their whole body, so children whose hobby is playing video games barely move. Once the young addicted to video games, they cannot but playing games spending their entire free time, in turn, losing chances for exercise outside. Recent statistics also support this point stating that children who are addicted to video games move less as much fifty percent than those who are not. In this regard, video games afflict children’s healthy life.

In conclusion, I firmly disagree with the following statement that video games offer merits to children since video games ruin both mental and physical health of children. Consequently, it would be wise for parents and instructors to not prevent children from playing video games as much as possible.