Although innovations such as video, computers, and the internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Many would say that the recent development of internet technology hampers students’ learning. In some sense, students are more susceptible to distractions because of the innovations. However, I still believe that we cannot easily ignore the benefits from improved methods for instruction.

Of course, it is undeniable that students can be distracted a lot from computers and smartphones they have. Teachers have regulated internet usage in the classroom in order to keep students’ attention on lecture. Nowadays, we can easily observe students in the subway, cafe, and road who keep eyes on a smartphone. Thus, no one can easily impugn that internet technology impedes students’ best learning.

Despite the negative side-effect, I believe innovative technologies can be wisely used to increase learning efficiency. Students can keep their concentration on a video clip because it conveys information in an interesting way. Moving pictures, narrative, and sound effects are integrated into a single video and help better understanding for learners. In fact, tons of scientific research already proved the increased learning ability of students when using video materials. In this regard, computers and the Internet can refine a traditional learning environment using textbooks.

Moreover, educators can give various learning materials to students, thanks to the Internet. Educators simply search on the Internet and find useful things such as videos, blogs, and research papers. They no longer need to concoct all class materials themselves. All they have to do is search on the Internet and select apt information for their students. In this way, teachers not only save time but also be able to provide high-quality out-of-class materials to students.

In sum, I think students benefit from high-technology devices because they enable us to search useful knowledge what class cannot fully cover. Also, fascinating visuals provided by the internet attract students’ attention and make students entirely into what they are studying.