quot To serve the housing needs of our students Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories Buckingham 039 s enrollment is growing and based on current trends will double over the next 50 years thus making existing dormitory space i

According to the memo, the director of student housing at Buckingham College suggests that the college should build new dormitories to fulfill the increasing number of students in the future and also attract prospective students to enroll the school. However, the argument is based on several weak assumptions and it needs specific evidences to consolidate the point.

First of all, the director believes that the number of students will double in the next 50 years, but the assumption is only based on the current trends. There is no other evidences to support this trend, and many factors could influence the real number of students. For example, the school policy to provide the scholarship to students is one, or even the world ranking of the department is another. To predict the trend of the number in the next 50 years, it requires further survey to make this conclusion.

Furthermore, the director mentions that students could not afford the risen rent for an apartment in town in recent years. But, what if the risen rent in town is just temporarily? If the school spends lots of money to build new dormitories and few years later, the renting price fall back to normal price, these dormitories may fail to provide the needs it imagined at the beginning. Advanced survey on the future renting price in the town should be conduct to make this decision cogent.

Finally, building new dormitories cost a huge amount of money, but we cannot assure it is the best way to attract prospective students. There are many alternatives could also attract them. For example, the school can build new buildings of the departments and upgrade the facility in gym or auditorium. Or else, investing new equipment for laboratory to support cutting-edge experiment. By investing the money in other fields could also attract prospective students to enroll in the future. Therefore, the school should consider if spending the money on building new dormitories is worth to meet their goal to attract students.

In conclusion, this suggestion is lack of several evidences to prove the assumption it based on. Further survey needs to conduct to make it reliable.