College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

All college students face the problem: what subject should I take? Do I choose the subject corresponded with my interest or the subject which is more likely to find a job in the future? In my opinion, I think students should follow their interests for several reasons:

First of all, the course seems to lead to jobs right now may not lead to job in the future. Several reasons may cause this change. For example, if the government make new policy to put more attention on cultivating the industry of semiconductor and reduce the investment on bio-technology, then those students who stduied bio-technology before and thought that they would have a steady job in the future would inflict by the policy. After all, no one knows the specific governmental policy or even the world trend, so how do the college professors decide which subjects lead to jobs and always perceive the world trend? Therefore, without the ability to foresee the future, how can we sure that the subject is lead to job?

Furthermore, not every subject is job oriented, but these subjects help human society indeed. For instance, comparing to finance or computer science, archeology is not a subject aimed at job. However, without archeologists, people will not know how to recognize the object excavated from the ground, how to preserve it and study the historic meanings behind it. When people find the bones of dinosaur, we will not have the ability to realize that millions of years ago, the earth was dominated by dinosaurs. Subject like archeology help people to understand the story happened before. It’s not job oriented, but it do help people to discover the world and oursevles.

Finally, what motivate students the most are themselves. When students are learning the subject they like, they are willing to spend time on solving the problems spontaneously, and enjoy the process of learning. The self motivation to acquire new knowledge is what students really need when they study in college.

To sum up, college should encourage students to pursue subject which are their interests instead of job oriendted subject. It’s hard to decide which subjects lead to job in the future, and all subjects play an important role in human society. Besides, the interest can drive students to study the knowledge.