One month ago all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one third of what it used to be Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are n

According to the letter, the owner of the apartment complex makes a proposal to reduce the cost of water fee by restricting the maximum water flow of all the apartments. The owner believes that this strategy will not be complained by the residents. However, some drawbacks in the assumptions need to be confirmed.

First of all, even if the report of water usage after adjustment was not yet available, the owner arbitrarily believed that the water usage was declined, which makes good saving for the corporation. However, without reading the report, we cannot make this assumption easily. In reality, perhaps when the residents noticed the small water flow, they changed their behavior to use the water. They started to store the water in the tanks for further usage. In this case, the total water usage would not decline at all. Therefore, to asssure the strategy really reduce the total water usage, the owner should wait for the result of the report than he or she can believe this evidence.

Furthermore, the owner mentions that only few residents complained about the low water pressure, and he or she states that the change was not complained by many residents. However, it’s too arbitrary to make the conclusion. Maybe most of the residents they noteiced the change, but they hadn’t complain about it to the owner yet. Some people thought that the adjustment was temporary and it would back to normal after few days. If they realize that this adjustment would last forever, they would start to complain at that moment. Therefore, in order to really understand the opinion from the residents, the owner needs to do survey on them to make this assumption cogent.

Finally, we don’t know what is the strategy for the owner to decide the experiment target. If the residents in the first three buildings is less than other buildings, then this experiment is not countable. Or if the residents in the target buildings have different behavior of using water, then this experiment is not aimed at the right sample to represent the whole group. The owner needs to provide what is the strategy he or she used to pick the target, then people can trust this experiment can reflect the real circumstance.

To sum up, the owner of the apartment complex miss several details and evidence in the letter. Further information needs to be provided to make this assumption reliable.