"Religion should be taught in public schools”. Discuss this statement giving reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Schools have had the responsibility of train their students in no less than a perfect and many of them have their own methodology to do so, some try to teach religion while some try to teach innovation, some try to teach culture while some teach modernity. Personally, I believe that public schools should not spend their time and effort in teaching religion. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will be explaining in the following essay.

First of all, religions has always divided and in most of the cases has affected the unity among people. There might be students who will be having some different belief and they will, most probably not agree with the study of religion taught inside class, so this will certainly bring out differences among children. People belonging from varied community are bound to have dissimilar thoughts and beliefs. One religion might teach some different way pf perceiving surroundings and human beings, while some other will have their own way. Consequently, this has always affected the overall growth of the nation and have paved the path of destruction and violence. For instance, India has people from different religions, caste, creed, communities etc. which are presently living in a peaceful state. But in the seventeenth and eighteenth century this country had to suffer a lot due to this diversity. Europeans like Britishers, Portuguese etc were able to control this country because all the kingdoms of varied religions were constantly fighting with each other, due to this they exploited India and satisfied their own demands. In the year 1947, India lost major part of its land as Pakistan got seperated from it and the reason behind this was also, religion differences. If different religions would not have existed, India would have been in a much better state. And this same impact can be found in classrooms of schools, who wish to teach religion.

Secondly, schools were created to impart education to children and they should not divert away from their main agenda. Teaching religion is not a part of academics and will never help students in job opportunities or in career. Instead of this, some classes could be organized related to some physical activity or meditation, which will actually be very beneficial for students. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in my middle school, we had to take one subject, not related to academics as a part of art education. The subjects were yoga, skating, religion education etc. I chose yoga and my friend chose religion education. Later on, I went to many competitions related to yoga, which added weight to my resume and became popular in school. While there were no competitions organised for religion studies, my friend felt bored in that class, and after some months this subject was omitted from Art education.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree that college should include the study regarding religion in their course for students. This is because it will not give birth to differences of beliefs and thoughts among children and because, schools were supposed to impart knowledge to students that can help them in future.