the rules that the whole society today expect young people to follow are too strict.

When it comes to various rules that young people are required to follow, some people claim that those rules are too stringent. But in my opinion, the current rules are suitable, and vital for the young generation, for the following reasons.

To begin with, there are many types of rules enforced on young people. Family rules are one important instance, as most of the young people live with parents before college. For example, many children are required to go home immediately after school. Seemingly strict, this rule actually helps to prevent children from exposure to danger or negative temptation, like going to wild forests for adventure or to Internet bars to play video games. Such restrictions help to put students on the right track, that is, focusing on study. Other family rules, like respecting the old and cherishing the younger kids, contribute to the moral development of children, and the harmony of a family.

The second type of rules that worth mentioning, is school rules. One controversial rule of many high schools, is the compulsory wearing of school uniforms. This rule has its own merits. For example, it eliminates the differences of backgrounds of different students: rich and poor students cannot be distinguished by their clothing. Also, it curbs the tendency of unnecessary comparisons among students, to encourage them to spend more time on studying instead of caring about their appearances.

Other entities also have rules for young people: company rules for young employees; social norms for young members. Many rules are not only beneficial to the entity, but also for the sake of the well-being of young people. Laws about legal drinking age are advantageous to their physical and mental health. It is a common knowledge that drinking at an early age is detrimental and sometimes it leads to severe social problems like crimes.

Admittedly, some rules might be too strict and need refinements. But in general, rules are a foundation of societal stability, and have underwent testing by generations. Moreover, there is a distinction between rules and rule enforcement. Some rules, although strict, have never been performed exactly as prescribed. Who can check whether a student has watched online porn video which violates the school regulations? Therefore, it is reasonable to raise the level of restriction to prevent young people with their rebellious nature of breaking the rules from breaking the overall stability of society. In other words, the rules become robust when strengthened.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the rules for young people are not strict no matter in families, schools, and societies, and they are indispensable.