In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Choosing a career is an important step in a person’s life. To identify a job that would lead to a secure and successful future requires effort. Is it easier for the people in the past than in the present? From my point of view, the answer is yes.

The first comparison that can be made is between the number of jobs in the present and in the past. Nowadays we have much more types of jobs. To name a few, some new jobs are: software engineers, food deliverers and social media influencers. The increased number of jobs increases the difficulty for a person to identify the right job that he or she can stick to for a lifetime. In the past, however, one could investigate the relatively limited range of jobs, like farmers, politician, teachers, to find the one that is the most promising.

The second factor that makes the judgement about a job more difficult today, is the fast pace of changing in society. With the development of science and technology, new types jobs have been created, but meanwhile, lots of jobs have been destroyed. The advent of Artificial Intelligence, for example, will probably eliminate the need for drivers. A secure job in the present may be insecure in 20 years. But hundreds of years ago, people could easily predict whether a job would be secure for the rest of their lives, based merely on their experiences, because the society did not change much during that time.

Admittedly, there are more ways to gather the information about different types of jobs today. But that does not make job choosing easier. The standard of success has changed. In old times when the major need of humans is material, a man can be regarded as successful when he could earn enough to support his family. The present days, nevertheless, see many people considering a career successful if it fulfills their spiritual need, as material need is no longer dominating. The pursuit of spiritual fulfillment, requires people to identify their true interest based on which they pick an ideal job. Such a pursuit is far more difficult than identifying the most profitable job based on public criterion in the past.

Therefore, I think finding a job that is the most secure and successful for oneself nowadays, is more challenging than in the past. But that does not mean our time is worse. To the contrary, that opens more doors for us to identity what we truly want.