SCANDALS WHETHER IN POLITICS, ACADEMIA, OR OTHER AREAS CAN BE USEFUL. THEY FOCUS OUR ATTENTION ON PROBLEMS IN WAYS THAT NO SPEAKER OR REFORMERS EVER COULD

Scandals have been imminent in the society from times immemorial, ranging from politics, academia, to other areas. We have been shocked recently by the Facebook-Cambridge Analytica Data Privacy Scandal where the data of millions of users were stolen for manipulating political activities including Brexit referendum and US presidential election; and by the college admission scandals where the rich bought positions for their children in elite universities. Such big news can draw our attention to problems which we have overlooked and which might have huge impact on our society, and in a way that no speaker or reformer could achieve.

First of all, scandals actually play a significant role in addressing issues which might have been overlooked by the public. Indeed, for example, data privacy is not an issue emerging suddenly after the malevolent behavior of those technology giants has been revealed. Applications start collecting our sensitive data once granted our permission. The giving of such permission, however, is done implicitly without our notice, and sometimes forcefully because without such a permission, the application won't work. Few consumers will complain about or even feel the encroachment of their privacy, let alone the CEOs of high-tech companies. Surely, some speakers concerning the impact of high-tech on human and those hoping for a technology reform may stand out, saying against Facebook and Twitter. But given the monopoly and dominance of the high-tech platforms, speakers and reformers themselves rely on those platforms and their voices will likely be ignored over time. Scandals, on the other hand, expose the issue to the eye of every user, evoke heated debate on how privacy data should be treated by a company, and more importantly, point out possible solutions to preventing such events from happening again.

Another characteristic of scandals, is their far-reaching influence. For the data privacy example, not only the interest of millions of users is hurt, the interest of the society as a whole is also impaired, since the data could be utilized to interfere with critical national and even international political events. For the second example in the introduction, hearing the university admission scandals, a natural reaction for almost every family having the children entered university legitimately is to feel unfairness. Besides, the goal of education equality and the right to pursuit knowledge of every one, are unfortunately damaged. On the other hand, the propagation of news is fueled by modern communication technologies like the Internet, so the influence of scandals can be world-wide, a degree of which a discourse of a single speaker cannot easily obtain. The usefulness of scandals, is based largely on its ability to reach a large section of the society and penetrate it.

One may say that speakers and reformers can also preach around, recognizing social problems and advocating their ideas on how to improve our society. Of course, they do, and sometimes do it well. But more often, they are talking about the future. A reformer may anticipate problems that are likely to occur when a new policy is practiced, and provide some preventing methods. A scandal, however, focuses on what has happened, and it is human nature to learn from the past, from mistakes. Knowledge gained from experiences is usually more valuable, more perpetual than those from conjecture about the future. Therefore, scandals not only expose social problems, but also call for collective efforts on finding solutions and make indispensable contribution to the society.