Schools always collect information about teachers' teaching performance and give rewards to those teachers who perform well. Which way do you think is more useful?

1. to evaluate teachers' performance by students

2. to evaluate teachers' performance by teachers

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently, the whole society has witnessed an unprecedented development of the education industry, therefore there is an increasing bunch of individuals putting more emphasis on the quality of education, especially teachers' teaching performance. Some of them come up with the idea that they can incentivize teachers by giving awards to them based on the evaluation of their performance, hence triggering a heated discussion about whose assessment is more useful, students or teachers? A myriad of individuals harbor the idea that the evaluation of teachers' performance is supposed to be conducted by their colleagues, other teachers. However, personally speaking, I stand on the opposite sides. I concur with the opinion that merely students are entitled to evaluate teachers' performance and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, assessing teachers' performance by students is fairer than the evaluation conducted by teachers. To be more specific, students are more likely to take the assessment more seriously. They will read the guidance offered by schools to score teachers' performance guided by each regulation instead of just giving scores randomly or intentionally lowering the score of specific teachers that they harbor resentment to, which means the possibility of rebellion behaviors is relatively low and this can be ignored. On the contrary, teachers fail to give an unprejudiced evaluation. On one hand, as for those schools employing the evaluation results as the foundation of awards, there is a propensity that teachers will compete with each other and maliciously make bad assessments for others, which not only ruins other teachers' reputation but also exerts detrimental effects on the advancement of schools. On the other hand, even though teachers will not be enslaved by the vicious competition, owing to their fear of spoiling their relationship, they are likely to give a good score regardless of how poor their colleagues' performance is at class. Hence, teachers, influenced by their biased standpoint, are not plausible to evaluate other teachers' performance.

What's more, students' evaluation is more rewarding. It is widely acknowledged that the teaching syllabus or schedule is not fixed and teachers will adjust the syllabus in accordance with students' feedbacks and their mastery of inculcated knowledge, therefore the evaluation conducted by students renders teachers a terrific opportunity to interact with students and have a more comprehensive understanding of their mastery of knowledge. Based on the comments collected from the evaluation, teachers are capable of adjusting their pace of imparting knowledge. Meanwhile, students' sentiments toward teachers' pedagogical methods or other characteristics can also be reflected in the assessment results, thus teachers can employ the suggestions given by students to improve their teaching performance. Since all advice is provided by students who directly receive education from them, it is apparent that teachers' adjustment can exert great impacts on students' academic performance.

Admittedly, evaluation conducting by teachers is not without merits. Teachers, who once received the common systematic education, are more adept in evaluating their coworkers in different but all-around aspects. Nevertheless, since the assessment is conducted at the aim of improving or enhancing the education quality, students ought to be taken into consideration initially, instead of teachers who are not direct receptacles of teaching.