Should countries intervene in a genocides in another country where a lot of civilians might be killed? Explain your answer

Genocide is one of the disastrous event that can ever happen to a nation. Not only does it lead to the loss of lives of many people including young ones and women, it also leads to the decimation of a lot of material possession that one has spent several years to acquire. Today many are of the idea that a country that is able to help shouldn’t intervene in another country where genocide would take place because they feel this might escalate the toll of event. In my own view I think a country who can help, should readily offer a helping hand to a country where genocide might lead to the death of the civilians for two important reasons which I’ll discuss in this essay.

The main reason is that it restores peace back to the nation. A country who wants to intervene would likely send its military to this country where such events want to take place. Not only that they would provide camps for people who might be affected and secure such camps so as to keep the people safe before the problem is totally solved. For example, my country Nigeria sent troops of soldier to Mali in 1989 when the country is going through a rough time because of deliberate mass killing of civilians of a particular tribe. The soldiers were able to provide foods for the people who were affected by this genocide attempt. Not only that the soldiers were able to provide camps where these people who were affected by this were properly secured and taken care of. The soldiers armed such places so as to prevent the attack of such camps. In no time the soldiers were able to negotiate for peace to reign back in the nation of Mali. This led to the freedom of this affected political stratum and they were able to live in peace with other citizens of the country. As you can see the intervention of the military group helped to restore peace and reduce the casualties that must have come from the that genocide.

Another reason is that this helps to preserve the economy of such country and other countries. A Country where such activities is taking place would suffer from economic hardship because people of such land would not be able to go about their day to day activities and work would be affected. Not only that countries that benefit from the produce of such countries would also suffer because economic activities would shut down and most likely the ports would cease to work where export activities should have taken place. For instance, few weeks of the killings in Mali, this led to reduction in the production of farm produce in no time many people in Mali started to feel the heat of the event and there is starvation in the land because the country couldn’t produce their farm produce. Similarly, neighboring country like Ghana also suffered from this because they depend on the cocoa produced by Mali to produce their own beverages which they export to other countries. But because of the intervention of the military troop from Nigeria, activities were immediately resumed and things went back to normal. This experience taught me the importance of a country intervening in another country where genocide is about to take place.

In sum, it can be clearly seen that it is important for a country to intervene in genocide threat of a country. Not only does it restore peace back to the affected nation, it also helps preserve the economy. I’ll advise every nation to be of helping hand when such wants to happen in future.