Characteristics a good neighbor should possess

Neighbors are those who we can refer to as those who live close to us. They are integral people in the lives of everybody because we all have at least a neighbor in our lives. This reason makes it important to consider the characteristics expected from a good neighbor. In this essay I’ll explore two important qualities that is expected from a neighbor.

The first is that a neighbor should be someone who is supportive. Life can often be filled with unexpected events and sometimes we might not be around to be of help to people around us. A neighbor who is supportive can often be of help in this situation that can be referred to as unforeseen occurrence. For example, in the year 2013, my mum forgot to switch off an electric kettle before stepping out to go to the market. Unfortunately, this led to a fire incident that destroyed our kitchen. I also have my junior brother who is just 5yrs of age in his room taking a nap. Our neighbor noticed a smoke coming out of our kitchen quickly because our kitchen window is close to the external garden I and my neighbor shares. She immediately alerted the fire service and they broke the door to gain access into our house in other to quickly quench the fire. Before this, my neighbor has quickly gone to the bedroom to bring out my brother. We were able to have only our kitchen affected by this fire because of a supportive neighbor. As you can been able to help is an

important characteristic a neighbor should have.

Another is that a neighbor should be able to have respect for those who he / she lives with. In life we often face different challenges both at work or school. Our homes should be a safe haven we can run to in other to relax and have a good rest. A neighbor who is respectful would consider those who he/she lives with so as not to use his own activities to disturb others. For instance, after coming back from work, I often enjoy coming to have a hot shower and relax immediately because my work is a very stressful One that requires me to be awake very early in the morning. My neighbor is used to playing loud music in the night. After hinting them about how their loud music affects my sleep, they adjusted in that when they noticed I’m back from work in the evening they switch off there stereo which makes me sleep well and I’m able to get ready for work the next day. This experience thought me that respect is an important character a neighbor should possess.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that good neighbors are those who are supportive and respect those who live around them. Not only can they be of help on unforeseen circumstance, they can also make your home a safe haven to relax from the stressful condition faced at work or school environment.