Should the government invest money to improve Internet access or public transportation?

People often possess the different perspective on whether the government should invest money to improve Internet access or public transportation. Based on my personal experience and observation of life, I strongly argued that the government should invest money to improve public transportation.

First of all, the government is concerned about reputation, and investing money to improve public transportation can provide the government with the great reputation. For example, the Taiwanese government decided to spend a great amount of money on the investment of public transportation in Taipei city. Most people appreciated it because the traffic jam in the city almost disappeared after the public transportation system was finished. As a result, the government gained more than 70 percent of support on the annual questionnaire.

Secondly, the government puts emphasis on citizens, and funding money to improve public transportation is more beneficial to citizens. For instance, the public transportation in Japan cost the Japanese government over 30 percent of its annual budget. However, the public transportation in Japan is extremely well-developed and convenient. Actually, people can go everywhere from Tokyo with the help of public transportation. On the other hand, if the Japanese government chose to invest on Internet access. Citizens could not benefit from the convenience of the public transportation.

Last but not least, the government cares about the environment, and improving public transportation can help the government reduce environmental pollution. For example, the air pollution caused by cars in China was severe in 1990s, and the Chinese government came up with the idea of improving public transportation. After the subway system finished, people started to take subway more frequently rather than drive themselves. Hence, the amount of pollution gas caused by cars decreased dramatically after the subway system was constructed.

In conclusion, I maintain that the government should invest money to improve public transportation. After all, the government places emphasis on reputation, citizens, and environment.