Should governments invest in arts more than sports or not?

Personally, I think governments should finance artistic affairs and not sports.

For example, about 10 years ago, a prominent Iranian actor, Mehdi Fathi died after bearing months of illness. The newspapers wrote, at that time, that he was very poor when he got old. The hospital that he was there announced to his family that if they were not able to afford the costs, they should exit the hospital. The disease was hard to cure. His family had not the money to fund his cure. Inevitably, they took him back to their home, and after a few weeks he died. Although he was not a handsome guy, but he was the most skillful actor ever that Iran's history showed. He played memorable roles in movies like Adambarfi and Eteraz and popular TV series such as Imam Ali. It was so sad. If governments support sports more than art the artists will die from poverty.

Another example, recently, there has been a debate in Iran between pop music stars and classical music stars. The debate had originated in the government's decision to identify the amounts of money bestowed to music groups based on how many people they can bring to their concerts. The classical artists claimed that the audience of their performance are, mostly, constituted of well-educated classes of the society such as doctors, engineers, and professors. Thus, they have a limited audience in comparison with pop musicians. So, in such a way, the classical music will perish and cannot endure in the market. The same evaluation should be done between art, generally, and sports. Sports have a lot of people who pay to see the games in stadiums, but generally speaking, art works have less audience. Thus, it is more important for arts to obtain state support that it is for sports because arts will die, if they have not governmental finance.

For those reasons, I think governments should support art rather than sport.