Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Many has been argued on the topic of transportation in current large cities. Must governments invest on public transport or on highways and roadways?

Fist of all, we have to consider the issue that roads and highways are a significantly important aspect of the country´s infrastructure. They are the cornerstone of the country´s industrial and commercial logistics. If we leave aside this aspect in favour of public transportation, the economy of the country could receive an important negative impact. For instance, Argentina relies exclusively on its highway network in order to transport goods from the countryside to its capital port. If we disregard this fact, we would be missing the bigger picture and also negatively affect productive sectors that are the core of the country´s economy.

Secondly, huge cities have demonstrated that although having a high investment rate in public transport, they have not been able to definitely solve the collapse of their transport system - specifically in rush hours. Many solutions have been attempted, like for example the licence plate restriction - restricting the circulation of vehicles based on having an even or odd licence plate. The latter puts an incredible amount on pressure on public transportation systems that may not be prepared to resist the increase amount of new passengers.

Finally, we have to take into account future technological trends that could completely change the picture in 10 or 20 years from now. The concept of self-driving cars would indeed disrupt current cities´s transportation systems. This is another key reason that justifies government investment on roads and highways. The latter is based on the fact that almost all cars would be autonomous in the future, which will allow an effective usage of roadways and contribute to lower traffic accidents. Moreover, this technological change opens the possibility for a massive car pooling system that could indeed lower the amount of vehicles in the system by sharing the car with other people while its owner is not using it.

On the whole, there is not doubt at all that governments should invest in the improvement of roads and highways. The issue of public transportation versus cars would be an outdated debate by the next 10 years, so it is a short-term problem. A successful government that thinks in the long-term prosperity of its citizens would undoubtedly bypass a short-term debate and concentrate its resources on its long-term objectives.