Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

We daily read in newspapers and magazines that a certain number of people died due to accident caused by lack of awareness of the government towards maintainance of roads. While some people believe that governments should spend more and more money on improving roads and highways, other prefer that governments should spend money on reforming public transportation services. As far as I am concerned, I can concur with former option which states that spending money should be biased toward improving roads. I have explained my opinion in the following lines.

First of all, a research report stated that the most accidents in India are mainly caused due to lack of intrastructure of roads and highways. Researcher from various nominated institutions had concluded that the accidents are inflicted due to potholes, narrowness of roads, lack of speed breakers, abiding traffic rules and laws, etc. In short, government should focus on spending its fund to build roads, replenish potholes, enhance the wideness of roads, etc to mitigate the rate of accidents.

In addition, to avoid wear and tear of vehicles, the roads and highways in a country should be well maintained. The damage of tyre or bursting of tyre is takes place due to bad roads. It may leads to accident which take lives of all people on a vehicle. Moreover, to reduce the time to travel a certain distance, the smooth roads and highways plays vital role.

Last but not least, villages that are situated remotely from the main city faces various problems to reach the city. It may be a serious case for some people of a village. For instance, a pregnant woman who requires instant help of specialized doctor loses her live in between roads or in hospital because of delay. It is most probability that delay which took live of a person is due to lack of awareness toward roads and highways.

In summary, as we can see that there are many advantages of improving new roads and highways, government of a specific country should a major responsibility towards reforming of highways and lanes. Since lack of infrastructure of roads may take lives of people due to variety of reasons such as delay in medical facility, ferocious accidents, bursting of tyres, etc, the government has a responsibility to heed on enhancing the quality of roads and highways.