32. The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter th

The author in the argument concludes that in order to reduce number of on-the-job accidents in a industry or organization, we should shorten each of or three shifts by one hour so that employees of an organization will get adequate amounts of sleep. The author’s conclusion mainly based on an assumption that significant factors in many on job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Also, since past year, in Quiot manufacturing 30 percent more accidents are noticed than that of Panoply Industries plant in which working period of a worker is less than that of Quiot manufacturing by one hour. The argument consist of many unanswered questions and hence which leads the conclusion to ambiguity. The argument has several serious flaws in it.

Firstly, the author in the argument assumes that correlation proves causality. Although it sometimes applicable, not always to drawn a conclusion of an argument. Moreover, the author predicts that one thing applicable in one organization will prove prolific to other organization or industry irrespective of considering terms and conditions of both organization, and fails to prove compatibility and relationship between two different plants. As a company varies, its infrastructure, pay scale to workers, skills required also varies. The author fails to prove relevant relation between two companies.

Secondly, the author in the argument assumes “because of this, therefore, after this” fallacy in an argument. It may be a case that Quiot manufacturing is an organization that manufacture products such as cement causes fatigue and lung problems due to inhalation of polluted air; which Panoply industry may be a oil plant which does not involve such problem in spite of one hour difference in working period. If this case comes to be true and practical, there is no any effect of reducing one hour in shifts of employees and ultimately, conclusion reach to debacle.

Final but not least, the author says that 30 percent increase in on the job accidents in Quiot industry than that of Panoply industry plant. It may be a possibility that employees enrollment increased in past year in Quiot industry which leads to increase in on the job accidents in company. Many external factors may involve and responsible for fatigue and sleep disorder problems. If this is possible, consequently an argument came with error and ultimately, conclusion,too. The author can include statistic data and curve to represent population density curve for employees in both companies.

In summary, the argument consists of man unanswered questions and uses fallacy such as “because of this, after this, therefore” to draw a conclusion. Moreover, the author fails to determine relation between two different companies and apply wrong analogy correlation proves causality, however it is not always true. The author can make argument well sounding and compelling by rendering cogent evidences such as relation between organisations, amenities, nature of work for employees, factors causes fatigue and sleep disorder problems, last year and today's statistical data for both plant, etc. If these details are considered in an argument, it will definitely remove errors and make conclusion convincing.