"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indica

The author in the argument concludes that customers who are served by margarine instead of butter do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term ‘butter’ to refer to either butter or margarine. The author’s conclusion based on the assumption that many customers do not complain when they are given or served margarine instead of butter in Happy Pancake restaurant. Moreover, according to the report of restaurant only about 2 percent of customers have complained on the change that brought by Happy Pancake House all over the southern united states. The authors argument does not sound convincing on the basis of assumption he included in the argument. The argument has several flaws in it.

Firstly, the author suggest here that only about 2 percent of customers have complained and hence concludes that an average of 98 of 100 people are enjoying and happy. Is it possible that customers who are not happy necessarily filed his or her complaint ? It may the case that customers who are not happy about the change that the restaurant brought have not filed their complaint to Happy Pancake House or they may be hesitant and unwilling towards file a complaint. Moreover, the author assumes that those who are not complained are happy. It may be a possibility that customers are only satisfactory about change and not enjoying the food.

Secondly, according to report obtained from servers of a restaurant customers have no issue when they asked for butter and get served by margarine. And hence, the author make his conclusion that customers either do not able to distinguish between butter and margarine or they use term butter to refer margarine. Were the fool? Were they boor or philistine ? A customer who regularly visits restaurant knows what is butter and margarine. It may a case that he was able to distinguish between butter and margarine but did not complain. In addition, he knew term butter and margarine and used specific word or term for what he wanted. The author here can make his conclusion more attractive and compelling by providing well sensed evidence.

Moreover, a report was submitted by the servers of Happy Pancake House. Could a report submitted by servers of a restaurant convincing or conducted in valid condition and characteristics or considering different circumstances on which the conclusion was made ? The author here can make argument well sounding by supplying the details about customers visited to restaurant and how many of them reviewed.

In sum, the argument has two major flaws on which its assumption is based. The author in the argument can make his conclusion by furnishing the details and data by the report submitted by servers of Happy pancake House, and also proving a well evidence that customers who does not complained about the change are happy and enjoying the food which had been served by servers of restaurant in United States.