"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The author in the argument concludes that the business manager of TV station should expand and widen the coverage of weather and local news program in order to enhance and attract more viewers to news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising losses. The author’s argument is based on that when management or late night news program devoted more time to covering national news while less time to covering weather news , in that period major complaints were received from customers and viewers. Moreover, some local businesses that used to run advertisements during that period just cancelled their contracts. The argument possess several flaws in it.

Firstly, the author assumes that when program gave more time to cover national news and less time to cover weather news, viewers complained mostly in that period. However, it may a case that viewers were unwilling and hesitant to complain to TV manager . Also , viewers in past year had dearth or paucity of social or communication sources such as mobile phones, emails, sms services, etc so that they could not able to complain to TV manager but in year later they had sufficient sources to file their complaint. I addition, it may be possibility that farmer who were most concerned about weather news are increased as compare to that of last year or they bought more TV sources that last year,hence, they filed more complaints regarding less time devoted to weather news.

Secondly, the author assumes that several local businesses had just cancelled their contracts who used to run advertisement programes. And from that illogically made conclusion manager should expand coverage of local news. It may be a possibility that program had given sufficient time to local and weather news but other players in the market increased in that period who attracted that local businesses from furnishing more money and incentives and schemes than TV manager as money is the only motivating factor for all people. Also, others local and weather news might covered less time than this TV manager, but enviornment was good as compare to that TV manager and hence they might broke partnership.

In summary, the author in the argument could strengthen his argument by proving example with logical assumptions such as other player in the market, why did local businesses broke partnership with TV manager, social medias availability in that period through which complaint could be submitted, viewers availability for weather and national news in year later and former, relation between local businesses and time devoted to nation news and weather, etc. I believe that if the author in the argument includes this details, statistics and data of survey, it will definitely make assumption and argument both good sounding and cogent.