The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement."Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs

The author in this argument argues that Clearview should be a first choice for anyone seeking a place to retire. The author’s conclusion is mainly based on an assumption that there are many advantages of Clearview towm which include spectacular natural beauty, a consistent climate, lower taxes than any other neighboring town and low housing costs. Moreover, Clearview’s mayor promises many new schemes and programs which include improving schools, streets, as well as public services. Hence, a retiree can expect good health in future, too. This argument has many unanswered question and lack of support evidences, hence, it leads to dubiousness. It has several flaws in it.

Firstly, the author commits the “After this, therefore, because of this” fallacy. The author fails to consider many pratical cases. This argument assumes that Clearview’s mayor promises many new programs in the town to improve schools, streets, and other public services. It may be a case that mayor will fail to fulfill his promises and there will be no any reform in the town due to certain external factors. Hence, if such case is possible, Clearview should not be a top choice for retiree.

Secondly, the author in this argument fails to regard conditions and possibilities for the future, and wrongly assumes that correlation proves causality. It may be a possibility that the health in Clearview will decline in the future due to lack of money support or lack of doctors in area or many external reasons. The author ignores such a possibility and predict that health care would good as mayor launches new schemes in the town. As health care would decline, retirees will have huge loss as they are more prone to diseases.

Last but not least, it is supposed that taxes and housing costs in Clearview remain lower, also, housing costs in the region fallen significantly as compare to neighboring towns. The author only compare housing costs and taxes to neighbouring towns. It may be a case that housing costs and taxes are lower than that of Clearvies in other remote towns, also clamatic conditions are much better than Clearview. If such condition is possible, the author’s assumption leads to fiasco and baseless.

In conclusion, the author in this argument assumes fallacy the “after this, therefore, because of this”. Moreover, the author fails to cater support evidences and argument is beleaguered with unanswered questions, hence it leads to dubiousness. In addition, the author fails to regard many pragmatic possibilities and cases. To buttress this argument the author should induct cogent evidence that mayor will definitely follow his promises related to new programs, also doctors availability in future for better medical service to make the argument compelling.