Argument Topic: According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in t

The author in the argument concludes that in order to reduce cheating among students, all colleges and universities should support or subscribe honor codes similar to Groveton’s college. The author’s conclusion mainly based on the assumption that when Groveton college induced and implemented a honor code which undertake agreement from student to not to cheat and signal if anyone of his friend find cheating, the cheating among students reduces gradually. Moreover, the author assumes that teachers closely monitored students under the system and teacher reported that cheating digit reduced per year. The author’s argument have several flawed assumption in it.

Firstly, the author in the argument assumes “Because of this, therefore, after this” fallacy to make conclusion. Could all students in college or university loyal to teachers of university ? It may be the case that students were well united and they made unity that if anyone student found in cheating, no one should tell to any teacher. If this is possible then the author’s assumption reach to fiasco. In spite of cheating, there was no notification to teacher, ultimately the report of Groveon college came with errors.

Secondly, the author in the argument without providing strong evidence make conclusion that all universities and colleges should adopt honor code to reduce cheating rate. As the university varies, its students , teachers, amenities, loyality, ranking also varies. The atmosphere and circumstances in other universities might be tense and not comparable to Groveton college. So, we cant say that correlation proves causality It may be possible that students in other colleges were highly dense while in Groveton college were less dense as compare to other. There is no statistics data and population curve of students in university.

Moreover, the authtor does not mention the conditions of survey, validity of survey, characteristics of survey to make conclusion. Survey might contain various errors , ignored by the author. In addition, survey’s data can hardly be used to draw conclusion or correlation. And, hence we cannot say that correlation proves causality. To make conclusion well sounding, the author should mention details of survey , people included in survey, characteristics and validity of survey,etc.

In summary, the author’s conclusion is seized by many fallacies. In order to make conclusion good sounding and cogent, author should provide statistics, population data, survey conditions, survey validity, survey characteristics, loyality of students in Groveton college, similarity between other universities and Goventon college, etc. If the author includes such details in argument , the conclusion of the argument will definitely be well compelling and corroborating.