should parents give money to their children for studying?

There is no secret that nowadays, with increase of wisdom, that education is getting more and more valuable in people's lives. There are many encouragements which leads people to learn more new things. Even when they are too young, they are mostly aware of education’s importance. In this way, parents who are most concerned about the education of their children, define some encouragement to push their children to get higher grade in school. However, I hold a different attitude toward this issue. In what follows, I will elaborate my perspective.

One of the most important fact to be mentioned is that making children aware of the value of education can be more efficient in their lives. All the defined temporary encouragements by parents, teachers or other people will lose their effect very soon and what lasts is only the love of knowledge which keeps children interested in studying. To illustrate this, let me come up with an example. My sister was not enthusiasm enough to study mathematics in school and thus my mother promised her to pay her money if she could get a good grade in school. In the end of that semester she could get a good score and my mother paid that money to her. But under the same circumstance, she was not interested in study in the next semester, even though my mother told her that she would pay money to her again. She grew up later and became fascinated about becoming an engineer in the future and she recognized how mathematic can be important in her future job. So she started studying mathematic in a serious way from then.

Another equally important fact is that being paid for getting higher score can lead children to cheat in their exams and getting that grade in an inappropriate way. Since these kind of encouragements are usually defined for those students who are not really enthusiasm about studying, they would find it easier to cheat on exam instead of study for long hours. The money that they are supposed to be given to them is not strong enough to persuade them for study more and it seems many time easier to answer some of those exam’s question by looking at other student exam paper. I recall once one of my classmate who had cheated on the exam, was punished by our teacher in the primary school and when our teacher asked her “why did you do that?” She answered I was supposed to get money from my father for high grade in this exam.

All in all, although sometimes these being rewarded for higher grade can be a kind of motivation for children to study more, its disadvantages still outweigh its benefits. Due to the fact that in this way children never understand the education’s importance in their future jobs and besides it can lead them to get that score in an immoral way.