Should scientific and non-scientific activities at universities receive equal fund?

Today most of people go to colleges and universities to prepare themselves for their future. Usually there are two different types of activities that are available in a college or a university: scientific activities such as studying, teaching and etc. and non-scientific activities such as social activities and sports. To me, these activities are of the same importance and should receive equal fund. There are a lot of reasons for this choice and I would like to put them in the following order.

To begin with, we should consider the basic fact that " a healthy mind is in a healthy body". There are a lot of studies that prove the critical relation between brain function and psychological condition of a person. A study by MIT university proved that if a person engages in social activities or sports will perform twenty one percent better than a person who does not. So this outcome of research shows us how important it is for universities and colleges to allocate sufficient and equal fund to both scientific related activities such as libraries and non-scientific activities such as sports.

Furthermore, we should be aware that the main aim of universities and colleges are not only to flourish scientific talents but also to burgeon all talent in variety of field. In order to do that these places need every kind of amenities to help a talented person in swimming such as a pool as much as facilities for scientific talents. By performing a simple research we can find out that a lot of athletes became famous because they were playing in their universities or collage team. So if we don't spend enough money in non-scientific activities, a lot of fresh talent won't be discovered.

Last but not least, there is an incorrect idea of assuming a university or a college as a place just to study and receive a degree. While I believe these places are also for having fun and enjoying our lives and this will eventually widen our horizon. For example when my university obligated us to do sports,I made a lot of friends and got to know a lot of interesting facts that made me change my field to a new one that I was not aware of before that sports activity.

So based on all the above mentioned points, I think that it is very important to allocate enough financial support for social activities and sports as well as classes and libraries.