In some countries, it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views?

In this day and age, people all around the world realize the importance of education as well as its benefits. However, the decision of when children should start their education is still a controversy. Some people insist that children ought to begin formal education at the age of four; however, others think that it is not appropriate to be a school-age child. I strongly appreciate the opinion of letting children go to school at the age of seven- the age that children have enough ability to pay attention and think logically.

To begin with, the ability of concentration varies among stages of ...development in children. It has been proved that a 4-year-old child can solely focus on its work within fifteen minutes, while a 9-year-old child can focus up to one hour. Concentration is one of the essential factors to decide the effectiveness of studies; therefore, it is best for children who are ready enough to start school. For example, when I was in kindergarten, my teachers determined that it was time to begin a formal education. Nevertheless, I could not pay attention to my teachers’ words even for five minutes. In short, concentration determines how fluent a class can execute.

Secondly, logical and abstract thinking only appears as children grow up, which plays an important role in studying. According to Jean Piaget’s theory of cognitive development, children are able to manipulate their logical thinking when they reach the third stage called the concrete operational stage - the stage that happens when children turn seven. This means that before the age of seven, children cannot absorb methods, which minimizes their studies. Furthermore, preschoolers are not ready to catch different perspectives; instead, they are more likely to persist with their opinions. To illustrate, it seems to be arduous for children to retrieve scientific information which derives from their teachers since they have not actually confronted it before.

In conclusion, it might be adequate for children to start school early. However, students need to wait for their mental development, namely concentration and logical thinking so as to produce their studies productively.