In some countries, people are no longer allowed to smoke in many public places and office buildings. Do you think this is a good rule or a bad rule? Use specific reasons and details to support your position.

Recently, general awareness about whether it is wise to regulate smoking in buildings and public places has aroused heated arguments. People, nevertheless have conflicting ideas. While some people, especially heavy smokers oppose this rule while others say this restriction is will benefit public health. In my opinion, this rule is advisable because

First of all, smoking threats other people's health. Smoke from cigarettes contain highly addictive and carcinogenic material such as tar, carbon dioxide, nicotine and much more. The smoke does not only affect the smoker but other people who ingest the smoke as well. Smoking in public could be dangerous since it puts other people's health at risk. According to a research conducted by Australia National University, involuntary smoking could be more dangerous because they do not receive protection from cigarette filters. Also, in public places, there are children who are not allowed to smoke and also more susceptible to smoking. Furthermore, cigarette smoke could be fatal to children's undeveloped lungs. Not only that, smoking in public could affect children as they want to imitate adult's behavior.

Moreover, smoking can cause fire. Many smokers are unaware of the risk of discarded cigarettes. Actually, according to a research, the number of fires in America caused by discarded cigarettes has reached 1000 in 2017. Also, in public parks and forests, a single dead cigarette could cause irreversible disaster to the whole natural ecosystem.