In some countries people are not allowed to smoke in public places. Do you think it is a bad rule or a good rule?

In the modern era, whether people should be allowed to smoke in public has raised a lot of debate among academicians. Some people hold the view that smoking is people's right and the government should not restrict their freedom by passing prohibitive laws. However, others may take the opposite viewpoint and believe that smoking in public is not like a personal issue and its effects and consequences also concern other people. I personally believe that using cigarettes should be banned in public areas. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through some noticeable reasons.

My first reason and maybe the most important one is that smoking not only has extremely negative impacts on the vital organs of smokers but also other people around may be affected by hazardous fumes produced as the result of smoking, even more than the smoker himself or herself. It definitely harms humans' health. For example, lung cancer rates have risen dramatically in the world after cigarettes were introduced, leading some people to wonder that smoking is the cause of the problem. To prevent such physically negative effects, smoking should be banned in public places where other people are also present.

My second reason is that not smoking cigarettes in public has already become social etiquette. People should know when and where to light their cigarettes. Although it is their right to smoke, others are not supposed to be involved in these unwanted situations. Some people may hate the smell of cigarette smoke, and we should not bother them by being so selfish that they might be forced to undergo such an unpleasant experience. This disgusting behavior will certainly make a negative impression of us on other people and show us to be people with a low social and moral status.

Thirdly, we adults should all be aware of the fact that we are inevitably role models for children. They love to copy adults' behavior to prove that they are mature enough. Imagine yourself walking on the sidewalk with a cigarette in your hand while a child approaching in the opposite direction with his mother. As you enjoy smoking, the mother tries to distract his boy's attention from you, which demonstrates that the mother has strived to bring him up into a person with high standards and qualities. It is also our duty to respect the parents' concerns about their children. In other words, we should know that our behavior in public may sometimes interfere with parents' instructions.

In summary, based on the aforementioned arguments, there is a myriad of reasons that convince me to support the idea of forbidding smoking in public. Some of them, such as harmful effects on people near to the smoker, annoying people nearby, and being copied by children, are mentioned above. However, that was like a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are some other reasons and examples challenging the claim, which are not mentioned above. All in all, I firmly believe that there should be some kind of regulations banning the use of cigarettes in public.