Some first-year college students do not have good study habits. Some people believe that colleges should provide all of the first-year students with a required course to develop their good study habits. Other people believe that providing this kind of course is unnecessary. What is your opinion and why?

We know that the life of university is different from the middle school, (段句)some student feels unfit when they come to the university. Some people think that school should require they to have some obligatory course in order to make they form good habits, but others believe that this decision is redundant because student should put all their attention on the course which they want to learn. There have lot of dispute about this issue. I think about this dispute from student view, I think it is necessary to have the obligatory course, because the two reasons below.

For the first reason, form good habits can make students have a good grade. Improve their academic performance. On the first year in school, some student might lose the enthusiasm for learning, the progress of students’ study will become very slow. Some of they will get some bad habits, it will have a big impact on their study life. Having an obligatory course can prevent they form lazy and delay, according to a report written by Harvard Student Union,” The average GPA of students with required courses is 1 point higher than those who not have.” So, we can know that it is necessary to have the required courses.

On the second part, it can stop students to wasting their time. Some student do not know what they should in the new school, because all the thing need Arrange for themselves, the required courses let students to have work to do every day, they can have they clear target and make plan very well. For example, my cousin who entered a good university with high grades, when he come to the new environment he did not know how to make the plan for the future life, because there are few number of class he need to take, he began to waste time on many kinds of party and played computer games on Internet bar. In the second year he began to regret because there are many things he cannot finish, He had to spend a lot of time on those things. That is why I support the point that student should have the required class.

Admittedly, student will forget those knowledge which they learn in the required class, because they will not use those knowledge in the future. But we have those class is to form good habits rather than use those knowledges to find job.?

In conclusion, form a good habit is very significant in the school life, those habits can help you have a good future. But now the setting up this kind of course is useless in some school because some student do not want to take this kind of class. I think school should pay more attention on it for those students.