Some people believe that first year university students have poor study skill should we give them a course to develop their study skill or not What do you think Explain it with specific examples

Nowadays numerous students are admitted by kinds of universities. Some people argue that the college should offer students the compulsory courses to develop their learning habit, while others hold an opposite view. From my point of view, however, I can stand in line with the former claim. I'll support my standpoint with following aspects.

Firstly, such courses serve the first -year students well, which can facilitate the process of their adaption to college. As we all know, there is huge difference between the high school courses and college curriculum, which are more extensive and abstract. Besides the regular culture courses,there also are psychology, sociology and so on being included in their majors, which need more researches and exploration. In this case, if the freshmen still keep their old study habits, such as learning by rote, reviewing courses just several days before exams, rather than take initiative to refer to more reference and communicate with professors, they may fail to pass the achievement examinations to a large extent.

Secondly, those courses can also relieve first-years’ anxiety to some extent. entering a brand new environment, along with high peer pressure, many freshmen are more likely to be anxious and lose self-confidence, especially when they fail in quizzes in class or the achievement tests. Worse still,some of them may choose to quit school in some extreme cases. By contrast, if students with this problem attend the course, they will find the others may have the same problem, and only by correcting the study habit, can they improve their performance. For example, if they learn how to balance the academic study and social research when confronted with sociology, how to do the research and so on, they will feel more competent to accomplish their tasks.

Admittedly, there must be difference leaning habit among students, which means the required course is not fit for and work perfectly fine for everyone. For example, some prefer the early bird’s modes, while others prefer focusing on study at night; some may study effectively by the instruction of teaching stuffs, while others tend to learn by themselves. there is no a standard to ask all students to follow suit. However, as undergraduates, they have the abilities to identify which way is best for them, and adjust and improve their learning habit accordingly, which is largely beneficial for their long-term study.

According to the discussion mentioned above, a conclusion can now be reached that the college should offer the freshmen required courses to modify their learning habits, which will exert a positive impact on their adaptation to university and dealing with stress.