Some high schools require all students to wear school uniforms. Other high schools permit students to decide what to wear to school. Which of these two school policies do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Having the choice to wear what one prefers to school may have its advantages but according to me wearing school uniforms to school is the better option. I feel this way for many reasons which I have explained in the subsequent paragraphs.

School uniforms ensure a common dress code for all students and thus ensures that there is no discrimination among them. A school may accommodate students from various financial backgrounds. Due to this some students may be able to afford better clothing than others which would lead to making the less fortunate students feel inferior. I must mention that my opinion is profoundly influenced by my personal experience. My high school initially allowed students to wear clothing per their choice. My close friend who was from a financially unstable background due to the death of the earning member in her family often felt uncomfortable to hang out with our social group as most of them dressed pretty in a sophisticated way. She was often teased for her cheap clothing to such an extent that she did not want to attend school. From this experience I clearly understood that a choice in clothing may in fact discourage many students from pursuing education or even be a part of social events in high school.

Another important point to consider is that students often misuse their freedom of attire. Girls may wear extremely short skirts and sleeveless tops while boys may wear short pants and informal shirts. This strictly opposes the ethics of a school. Here, it often becomes difficult to impose, follow and maintain the rules regarding the dress code in school. For example, in my cousin's school their were a group of students who frequently challenged their teachers by breaking the dress code. In spite of several warnings the girls wore sleeveless tops and hid them by wearing jackets only in front of the faculties and removing it thereafter. Boys also dressed in weirdly colourful shirts and short pants which were certainly unfit for as formal school attires. Clearly through this example we can see that allowing students to wear their choice of attire would pose a threat to the integrity and principles of the high schools.

Therefore, I strongly support high schools with the policy of compulsory uniforms for all students. I feel so as mentioned above that students must not be discouraged due to their attire and secondly, that uniforms would make it easier to ensure that students are dressed in a civilised manner.