Some modern agriculture methods damage the environment. People think providing more food for the growing world population is more important than protecting the environment. Do you agree with this view?

During the history, agriculture has had a prominent role in communities’ development and has had a vital role in human life. According to the history, those societies which had better agriculture methods survived for longer periods of time. In the modern era, inventing and exerting many sophisticated agricultural facilities has caused countries to have modern systems and mechanisms to produce more food for the growing population of the world. The controversial question which arises here is weather producing more food in massive scales using modern technology is more important than protecting the environment. Although providing the whole population with enough food seems to be humanitarian, I believe that saving the environment is of more importance either for all people or for wilderness or for the nature. The following paragraphs will vindicate my standpoint.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that cultivating in huge scales will cause not only destruction of natural resources and animals’ habitats but also lack of fertile soil. Initially, cultivating a lot of crops on a piece of land for many times causes the soil to be deprived of minerals, so the soil will not be fertilizing anymore. In addition, over irrigation will salinize the soil, which makes it tend not to be useful for cultivating in the future. Also, the natural compensation for these effects takes too long time in the comparison with human’s lifelong. On the other words, agriculture will definitely damage a large fraction of environment, which is the most precious inheritance of current generation for next generations. A conducted research on an instance piece of land in my country showed that after fifteen years of cultivating and irrigating the soil it was like a piece of barren land, although they added fertilizer to the soil frequently. Also in the simulated environment in a laboratory, an instance amount of that soil took more than eighty years long to be made up and come to roughly near its natural situation.

The second noteworthy reason is that the more food is available, the more population growth will happen. And the more population grows, the more food is needed. And this cycle continues until there is an explosion of population in the world and that time what will happen to so huge population? In my perspective, if governments interfere in making equilibrium in their peoples’ population and spend enough budget and time on it, they will not have to spend time and budget on providing the population with so huge amount of food sources that producing it damages our only habitat in the whole universe. For an instance, the China did not control its population at an opportune time, so their odd food has entered their diet in harsh circumstances in which there was not enough food and their outlandish diet not only makes the situation hard for some species but also causes the emerge of threatening and killing diseases which are common between human and animals.

To bring everything into conclusion, it seems rational to preserve the environment as more immaculate as possible rather than to produce more food causing detrimental damages to environment and having an exploding population.