High school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school

teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches

do you think is more effective for student learning and why?

During past decades, education system has been developing at a galloping pace all around the world. Many teachers try to do their best when they are teaching their students. The controversial question which arises here is that whether teachers should give lectures to their students or try to bring them in discussions and make them do projects. Although it seems easier and faster for teachers to give lectures, I personally believe that spending most of class time on discussions and projects is more beneficial for students. And I have a myriad of reasons two of which will be illuminated in the following.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that in this way students can have more concentration on the discussion so their learning ability will increase. First, they are encouraged to involve discussions and will try to strengthen their brains in a way in order to be able to look at a same topic from different aspects. In addition, by involving in discussions in the classroom students are more conscious about what is in progress in the class so they learn a lot more about the topic. On the other hand, when they are taking notes they might lose many key points of the lecture so they cannot learn the details as well. When I was at university, I remember that I had a young teacher whose teaching manner was incredible. Although the topic was really challenging for all student, he taught it during exciting discussions and each time that he wrapped his discussion in to a conclusion I used to be surprised that he could teach so simply. Had not he taught so nice, I would have filed that course.

The second noteworthy point is that by doing projects, the students can gather a lot of experiences in the topic. Initially, students might forget theoretical materials so sooner while they can remember what they have learnt by experiencing for a longer time because that part of the brain and memory which is related to doing or watching something is more and more times stronger than that parts related to hearing or writing topics. A study was conducted recently on a group of students in two phases. In the first phase they were given a lecture for thirty minutes and in the second phase they watched the phases of a related project again in thirty minutes. After ten days most of them could remember most of the details of the phases of the project but they could hardly recall the main parts of the lecture. Furthermore, experiencing the topics increases their efficacy for they can learn more tangible ideas. Also, in this way they are led to discover new methods of doing different things or finding new ideas. That helps them be more creative.

To bring everything in conclusion, I believe that teachers who involve students in discussions and teach them during discussions can teach their students more topics with more quality and stability. It is highly recommended especially for younger teachers to stop giving lectures to their students and change their way of teaching.