Some movies are serious, designed to make the audience think. Other movies are designed primarily to amuse and entertain. Which type of movie do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Which is better, the blockbuster or the drama? That is that is a debate that utterly divides the world of films. Film making is an art which goal is to captivate audiencies and make people think. Even though some people think serious movies are boring, is of my conviction that they are more meaningful than plain, comercial movies. And I will explain my reasons for believing so in the following essay.

First, I find that though-provoking films beat movies designed to entertain in their own game. The former ones are unexpected, present complex arguments and characters, whereas blockbusters present an established formula. I am not engaged in predictable movies, for instance, in the new film, “The Predator” it was so obvious what the outcome was going to be from the beginning. It was no surprise that the whole theather was yawning by the end of the movie. I have never seen this with Cristopher Nolan’s movies, which are considered masterpieces.

Furthermore, they want to plasmate a real message. Film is an art, and as such I expect it to have a higher purpose than to merely amuse consumers, so movies that leave a deep message in you must be the ones considered important. As a personal example, “artificial intelligence” was a movie that let me thinking what it means to be human. Having a robot, as a protagonist, he develops true emotions for her ward, and he shows that his feelings are as strong as ours, so why should human emotions be called real and he’s not? This is a question that humanity must ask itself in the yearst to come, and this movie started people to do just that.

For all the reasons drawn above, I think that thoughtful movies are superior in quality than joyful ones. Moreover, The ability to surprise us and make us question our values are elements that, in my opinion show, a greater form of art.