Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

In the last decade or two, the technology has entered all spheres of our lives, while especially smartphones became part of our everyday routines. Some people argue that technology is highly addictive, hence parents should avoid buying them for their very young children, while others argue that they are unavoidable in the world today. In my opinion, it is important for children to sustain from the use of smart phones as long as possible. I feel this way for the two following reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, technology can very very dangerous if it is not used with caution. Since children brains are not as developed as brains of the adults, they might be in higher risks. In other words, small kids can easily be tricked to enter some extremely dangerous sites. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When me and my brother were young, we have encountered some websites on our smartphones that have later charged enormous amounts of money from our parents. Another example of the danger of smartphones is a case of a very young girl, that got targeted by the members of the ISIS group and soon became recruited by them. For this reason, I strongly believe that parents being children's guidance should know better than giving them smartphones at an early age.

Secondly, smart phone are very expensive, especially if being in the wrong hands. More importantly, children are to young to know the real price of phone calls or the devices themselves and can therefore abuse them with the high price for the parents. There are multiple examples from my childhood that are the proof of that. For instance, one of my friends has received a call from a foreign country when she was really young and her parents ended up paying a large sum of money to cover for the bill. Accordingly, I think that it is better to give smartphones to children when they are older, or old enough to understand their real value.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is better for parents to forbid those electronic devices while kids are small. This is because this technology can be very dangerous for children, but also very expensive for the parents.