Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Nowadays with all advances in technology is easier to stay well-informed and keep in touch with everyone. The advances of the Internet and especially smartphones allow people to always be online but there are some disadvantages in using these devices. Adults know which risks they are exposed to, however, children, mainly young children, are incapable to measure these risks and how to avoid or being protected. In my view, I believe that parents that do not give smartphones to their young children are correct. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, using their own smartphones young children are in danger of being in contact with pedophile people. These days, with the increase of use of the Internet, there has been an increase in cases of child abuse and stolen data used by these groups in order to expose and share photos and videos of the victims. It is a general concern, governmental and familiar, to keep children safe from these abusers. It is safer that parents do not give smartphones to their kids instead they should allow them to use parent’s smartphones with a close observation from parents. For example, parents should block sites and chats, and let available just safe games. Moreover, they always should know and observe what they do online and talk about the dangers of the Internet for children.

Secondly, there are other kinds of cell phones that are not connected to the Internet which permit parents to keep in touch with their young children in case of an emergency. The world has changed in innumerable ways with the advent of the Internet, hence, the dangers have increased too, there is a lot of violent content online inappropriate for children. My own experience demonstrates this concept. Last year my nephew, that only is five years old now, caught his mom smartphone in secret and later he was found crying because he had watched a violent cartoon that was not suitable for children. Parents should always block certain contents and sites that are not for children if they use these devices. Although, keeping in touch is important and necessary there is the option of getting simpler cell phones instead of smartphones.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that young children should not have their own smartphones. This is because the risk of being attacked by a pedophile, and because cell phones with no Internet are more suitable for them.