As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays with the advent of the Internet and many other technological devices, our daily lives have improved in many aspects such as availability of information, quickness to realize things and tasks beyond the easiness to solve house and business works. Personally, I believe that all advances in technology are positive and enhance our critical thinking rather than impair it.

Firstly, technological advances are not just those we know these days. Since the beginning of civilization there were a lot of improvements in technology, for example, the discovery of the fire, the invention of the wheel, the use of the iron and so on. Neither of these advances impaired human ability to think nor learn and develop, on the contrary, with each advance humans are boosted to learn and discover more in order to keep updated. Civilizations or reigns in the past could not just observe another one discovery of the enemies, they should wisely think to stay prepared at the same level or they would be conquered or invaded.

Secondly, these days technological advances keep happening all the time and we should think and learn about it or we will be obsolete and outdated. For instance, in business almost every year occurs upgrade of systems used and if employees do not learn about it they will be in danger to lose their jobs. Another example, in medical field doctors and researchers can not stay accommodated with the current treatments and drugs because other diseases, virus and bacteria appear and they should be prepared to solve these difficulties discovering new treatments and solutions through critical thinking.

Finally, all the improvements in technologies are made by humans, therefore, it enhances our knowledge in these matters not diminish our capacity to think. Although jus few people know how to develop new devices and technologies the rest should know how to use them in order to facilitate and improve their daily lives.

To sum up, staying updated with all new devices and sources of technologies require us a lot of effort to learn how to use it well not impairing our critical thinking at all.