Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Facts and concepts are both basic aspects of learning, teaching and assessment process. Concepts are that broad and generalized ideas that should be understood, while facts are usually detailed information that are memorized. I strongly support the idea that it is more suitable for student comprehend ideas and concepts than just facts. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, the learning approach should be based first in the learning and comprehension of concepts and then, after this process had occurred, should be started the memorizing process of the facts. Otherwise the students are not able to perform this memorization task. Once facts should be interpreted and only make sense after previous conceptual knowledge is known.

Secondly, facts are easily forgotten when not practiced on a regular basis since their learning process is very quick. It is known that this learning and teaching process is performed by repetition and memorization. On the other hand, concepts or ideas are based on gradual learning process which makes its forgetfulness slower and more difficult to happen when compared to the previous one.

Finally, students that only know facts and do not known how to think, link and make connections of broad conceptual ideas, usually they are not able to answer integrative questions or describe interactions between different subjects and even related ones. Furthermore, they can not organize the previous memorized fact into a broader category and then link information all together.

To sum up, I strongly believe that understand concepts is more important for students than just knowing facts. This is because facts only make sense if students have previous conceptual knowledge about the topic.