Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Most parents put a lot of effort to educate their children through various ways as well as teachers do in the school. Some of methods are useful. Others, however, may have the opposite effect. Here is an issue that some parents offter their children money for each high mark they get in school, which draws some attention. People have different views toward this issue. Some would say it is a good idea to do so. Yet, others argue that it is not appropriate for doing this. As far as I am concerned, I incline to the former point. I will take a closer look at this view with several reasons.

The most immediate point is parents award their children who get a high grade is an effective approach to encourage them to do better in school. Studying is painstaking especially if one wants to rank first in school. We can imagine how hard it would be. As parents, they should care about their children and consider if there is a way to recognize the outcome that their children have. Therefore, offering some money is a good way to show their consideration as well as encouragement. As that being said, children will study harder and try to get a higher score in school.

Another point worth mentioning is that money is a motivation agent for children when they perform well in school. As a saying goes, no pain no gain. In turn, if one works so hard and get things well done, he or she deserves a reward, which is a better way to motivate them to be more successful. For example, when I was a kid, my mother told me that if I get a full mark on my math exam, then she would give me 5 dollars, which I can use the money to buy something that I want. I felt so motivated that I worked so hard in order to get the money. As a result, I got a full mark and I was so happy that I think as long as I do my best and I will succeed. Thus, money as a reward which can truly stimulate the will that child wants to be the best.

Further lending credence to my position is that rewarding can release the pressure of children. As we all know that working so hard is a good thing to do. But it is equally important that we need some relaxation. Therefore, if children get a high grade in school, it would be reasonable for children to relax. In this case, money would be a necessity. They can spend money on playing some video games or some snacks whatever they like. Therefore, parents offer them some money is helpful for their children to get some fun.