Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is common that parents now are suffering great pressures from their work and are left with less time to be with their children. So, the problem comes: how to utilize this precious parent-child time? From my perspective, I prefer to spend this time having fun with my kids.

First of all, under the advanced and comprehensive educational mechanism, children are able to perform schoolwork without the help from their parents. So, there is no need for parents to spend too much time with their children doing something related to schoolwork. For example, each student is assigned with an advisor. And no matter what questions a student encounter in his/her study, he/she can ask for help from the advisor. Also, many schools now are offering students with multi-functional platform to have discussion and conduct QA session with teachers online. It is obvious that there is no need for parents to get involved in children’s schoolwork.

In addition, students are now facing with great stresses and many of them have to take various extra-curricular courses. So, having fun with parents plays a more important role in their life. Activities such as playing basketball or guessing game can significantly release their pressures and have good refreshment. For example, every night after I finish my homework, my father would like to play chess with me. This kind of father-daughter time can always help me get rid of all my annoyance and troubles. It is clearly that having fun with parents matters a lot to children.

Furthermore, having fun of playing sports can enable students to strengthen their bodies and build their muscles. Only with healthy body can students pursue their goals and achieve success. For example, it is often reported that some students fail to start their career due to their poor health condition. So, parents are supposed to spend more time with kids to participate in more sports.

In a nutshell, engaging in some non-academic activities plays an important role in students’ life. Playing sports and games can help students relieve their pressures and strengthen their bodies.