Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People may be buried in deep thought when they initially see the point that all university should be required to take history courses. Some people argue that it is necessary for the students no matter what their field study is to learn history courses. However, others believe that you cannot ask all the students to learn the course that they are not interested in. I, personally, incline to the former opinion. There are some reasons can be back up.

To begin with, as a old Chinese saying goes, one can be a man with a good standing by learning history. Leaning is the major work for students without any doubt. Granted, it is important for university students to master the skill and absorb knowledge which particularly beneficial for their career and help them to find a decent job after graduation, but it is equally essential for the students to learn history courses as to how to be a man who can be a constructive resource for the society and his country. In this sense, learning history courses will shape their mind, in a more general way, to know what kind of man should be as being considered a small part of the world.

Second, History courses can help students to know more about the identity of him or herself, along with how to understand the relationship between the individual and the country and whether we should love our country or not. Building a sense of loving own country is quite necessary for university students. After graduation, most of them will go to the society to work, to serve the country. With knowing the history of the country, it is more clear for students to decide what kind of work they should do. For example, Jim, one of my friend, was majoring in mathematics, who determined to work as a translator. After learning the history, he realized that many western media have been reporting the fake news to despise China for a long time, which let many people have a wrong view of China, it is impede the development of China to some extent. That is why he wanted to be a translator to put real China on the website for letting the foreigners know what is the truth.

Third, students can build up a better analytical approach by taking history courses not only help them to get things straight but also help them avoid brainwashing. The world is not that beautiful and fair to someone's eyes. Especially for the adult world. In history courses, we can know the reason behind some big historical events, such as World war I and II. That would make you think and analyze the truth of those powerful countries. At least, you will not buy those propaganda and so-called values as those countries selling to the whole world. It's quite important for the university to stay calm and stay clear.

To sum up, the world has become quite different now, many people can be confused and lost their direction up to their life destination. History can let us know what is the right thing to do and what should not be done, which is the light house for the university students. Therefore, I strongly agree with the statement that all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.