Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, some parents motivate their children to study hard with some kind of award, such as a financial award. Some people assert it is a good idea, whereas others oppose this point of view. In my opinion, a financial award is an effective way to lash children to study hard and get a good grade, especially with the following reasons taken into consideration.

To begin with, it is a feasible way for parents to motivate their children to pay attention to study. Children need to be encouraged when they succeed or make huge progress, and money can be the role of encouragement. For example, when I was a pupil in elementary school, my parents told me that if I got a high rank in the monthly or final exam, I could be awarded 20 yuan for it. I was so excited about it because I thought it was a large amount of money and I can obtain it simply through an exam! Thus, before every test or exam, I worked hard until night, obliteratedly preparing for the incoming test. I looked through every question and checked every answer carefully before handing the paper in. In this way, I earned a lot of money, and at the same time, I got a higher grade. As a result, I believe that this way is effective and helpful.

Moreover, it can cultivate a good habit of saving and planning money for children. By behaving well in exams, children can get a certain amount of money and this is a perfect time for children to learn how to arrange their deposit. According to the Times magazine, people who start to monitor their money in the early stage of their life are more likely to succeed in the future.

Admittedly, some may point out that it is bad for children to bond money with grades, and children could lie about their grades to earn more money. However, I do not think that the cheating behavior is the result of a wrong award, but instead, it is the absence of education on honesty. Parents should teach their children how to be honest.

In conclusion, offering children money as the reward for a good grade is an effective way to motivate them for parents, in my opinion.