Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?
Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
Getting high marks in school by children is all parents' heart desire, in which they put any affort they can. One of the most important factors that can affect
children's grade in school is their incentive for learning lessons. As far as stimulation of children for reading their lessons is concerned, some are of the opinion that
giving money as a present for getting high marks would be an appropriat way to achieve this goal, while others belive otherwise. I- for one- subscribe to the latter idea.
The reasons why I believe so are maifold- three of which, however are of great consequences: giving money would not be an ever-lasting incentive, children may associate
reading lessons with money that can has a detrimental effect, and money can not demonstrate the value of their achivement.
To beging with, rewarding money to children in return for their good scores may be at first very valueable for them and provoke them to attempt more, but after aa while
getting money can not be as effective as it was initially. For instance, students find gaining monet intresting and they try to get money by other ways rather than reading
lessons, in order to obtain more money.
Second, by this way children associate reading their books with gaining more income, and this can be a disappointment for them in the future. To be more specific,
children would not try to practice functional use of their knowledge. Nowadays, occupations and professions need specialist instead of theoriticians. So children most know
that merely reading their lessons would not be paid in the future.
Last but not least, money is not a decent reward for the students hard work to get high grades. They should know being literate and obtaining knowledge is invaluable.
For example, if they consider the money and the knoledge in same value, a stupendous achievement in their future would be unattainable.
All in all, I do belive that money can not be a peoper incentive for children to read their lessons. they should given a present that can be a permanent stimulation for
them, aware them that learning their lessons is not the only prerequisite for gaining money in the future, be a decent identification of their precious work.