TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

In today's modern world with developed technology and facilities people can readily obtain any news around the world. Media like newspapers, television, internet, etc. are replete with all kinds of news from around the world. As far as reading news is concerned some are of the opinion that we should know all the news and be informed all the time, while others believe otherwise. I-for one- subscribe to the latter idea on the ground that keeping up with all the coming information will waste our precious time, exert pressure on us, and disturb our concentration.

First and foremost, time is the most valuable gift of life, which everybody wants it to spend as effectively as possible, especially in the modern world of today with its galloping progress. For example, I used to check world news every day at my work, from politics to sports. After a while, I realized that I couldn't do my tasks in time and I had to work some extra hours to compensate. Therefore, I quit that habit and after that I didn't need to stay late at work.

Secondly, reading all news of the world will definitely brings us huge mental stresses since we will get worried about all matters, some of which is not even relevant to us. For instance, following the news of wars and disease from all corners of world will have a detrimental effect of our mental health. It has been proved by scientific researches that bad news can impose stress on the reader's unconscious, even if they think that they are not paying much attention to it.

The last but not the least reason which reinforces the preceding assertion that being informed about all the news is not beneficial for people is that it would be source that will not allow people to focus on their work. Again consider my personal experience in following news as an example, when I was reading sport news, I always wanted to know the sport game results and tried to reach that information by checking the sport news websites. As a result, it was very difficult for me to concentrate on my works and that was a huge impediment for me to be successful in my career.

All in all, taken into account what was already mentioned, I do believe that being informed about all events happening around the world has an unfavorable impact on people's life since it would take so much time, they will get nervous, and they will not be able to focus properly on their important issues. Thus, wouldn't it be nice if we use our valuable time as effectively as we can and be relieved and can concentrate enough on our work instead of simply having knowledge about world news?