Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable that parents always make efforts to help their children to be successful in the future. Working hard at school and obtaining high grades are two key points that play main roles in students' success. Although some parents would rather pay money to their children for each high mark they obtained, I am not convinced that this would guarantee kids' achievements in the future. From my vantage point, it is more effective if parents make a policy for rewarding their children and motivate them to do other positive activities besides getting high grades.

Firstly, having a general reward system is so influential on youths' behavior. Indeed, reward system may include variety of prizes and gifts; some emotional activities such as hugging children and kissing them or physical prize such as buying some special gifts for them. In my opinion, limiting the prize system to just giving money would reduce child's motivation in a long period, since it prevents a child to gain other kinds of gift. Moreover, children will always care about money in their life and they will not take into account other facets of life.

In addition, strong concentration on high grades is not appropriate, since it makes children to feel that it is the most important thing for their parents. As a result, they would do even negative actions to achieve high marks such as cheating. On the other hand, mothers and fathers should teach their children that other proper behavior are as important as high grades and can be compromised by them. For example, they can be rewarded if they also help their friends in their study group. This would let their children to not just focus on high grades without concentration on other decent doings.

To conclude, giving money to kids is not the best choice to encourage them to study hard and get high grade. Creating a reward rule and motivating children to do decent behavior are so beneficial to them to achieve their goals in upcoming years.