Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Study plays a pivotal in children's future. However, since twelve-year education is a long and tiring process, it is important for parents to find ways to motivate their children's study. One of the most prevalent among these methods to encourage a child to learn is to give them allowances any time they receive good grades at school. In my opinion, parents' pecuniary incentives are rather disadvantageous than favorable to school-age children.

First of all, children would fail to realize the true of purpose of studying if they get money as gift for any high academic achievement. This method makes students learn for materialistic reason. When they grow older and get a part-time job, where the wage is higher than parents' small rewards, they may neglect their study and focus on working even at early ages. On the other hand, if children understand that learning industriously would benefit their future, they would automatically exert great efforts in studying. An illustration is my cousin, who used to receive five dollars for any time he placed first in his school mid-term and midterm exams. However, when he was in grade eight, he join his friends in a small online business, from which they earn a huge sum. Since then, he was regularly absent in classes and even intended to drop out of school for more time on the business. Fortunately, my aunt and uncle found out and convinced him to place his concentration back in classes and school. They explained how great performance in high school and college would bring him advantages in his future career, which far outweigh the benefits of work experience but without high education. After that, my cousin always strived to learn and get high marks even without any monetary rewards. All in all, children receiving allowances for their high grades may eventually overlook their study and focus on other activities allowing them to earn more than those pecuniary gifts.

In addition, parents' monetary offers may lead to some of children's extreme behaviors. Many suffer from stress and some may resort to cheating in a desperate hope for high academic accomplishments to gain money from their parents. Others, who used to first truly enjoy lessons in classes, feel pressurized and lose their interest in studying. For example, my mother said she used to receive money from my grandparents for her good grade at school. She loved it at first but gradually regarded study as a responsibility because of these rewards and eventually did not like learning anymore. Her marks declined even though she still put the same effort in homework, review and exam preparation. Luckily, my grandparents noticed that problem early enough to change the way they encourage my mother and helped her to cherish studying again. It is obvious that people always perform better out of interest than obligation. Consequently, this method is more likely to do harm to school-age children than to promote their schooling.

In conclusion, to my view, that children are offered money for high results at school is not beneficial. I believe that parents should try to use others approaches to inspire their children to work hard at school instead of using financial motivation. Children should study because they understand its merits and they really enjoy it.