Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

The advent of Internet and other technologies has allowed people to gain access to more information than ever. Watching TV or surfing the Internet for half an hour, people can know all events that are taking place on the globe. However, some doubt that whether such knowledge should be value, as they may not have any impact in our life everyday. On the contrary, I am of the opinion that it is essential to be aware of things eventuating around the world.

First of all, knowing about other events outside your country, even from faraway ones more knowledge is beneficial as it increases one's knowledge. Reading or watching world news obviously provide viewers with more information about the conditions of all other countries. As a result, they can be more considerate when talking to foreigners and avoid offending them because of accidentally mentioning some problems. Moreover, as they have broad knowledge and insight of happenings of other nations, they are more likely to be nominated for positions to work and cooperate with other foreign corporations, therefore, having more promotion chances and earning a higher salary. An illustration is my friend, who rarely read news. However, she once met a Korean and began talking with them. She accidentally mention things related some current conflicts between Korea and China without knowing and frustrated the Korean friend. Fortunately, she quickly realized the strange reaction, found out the problem and apologized. But she still regretted and wished she had been more conscious of news and able not to make that stupid mistake.

In addition, such news helps readers to prepare for unexpected events or phenomena in the future. Although things eventuating outside the country might not have any direct influence in their daily, knowing about them allows people to prevent or quickly come with solutions when encountering similar problems in the future. An instance is in the international news section of an online newspapers I follow, a main article about the event is usually followed by helpful related articles about how to avoid that problem. For example, when I read news about sudden earthquakes in Japan, I also know about how to react when it appears. Although there are small chances of earthquake in my country, it is better to be prepared for such occasions since I am not one hundred percent certain that they will never happen. All in all, knowledge of any event is useful in some way or another.

In conclusion, to my view, it is pivotal for humans to be conscious of happenings in other nations, no matter how unrelated it seems to them. I believe that people should try to read or watch more news about events that occur around the world to take the most advantages of them