Some people argue for a broad university education in which students learn about many different subjects. Others argue for a specialized university education in which students learn only about a specific field of study. Which position do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples support your opinion.

The human’s educational process is still in development when we talk about the perfect model that universities have to follow. Some people believe that students need to have a specialized formation, due to a possibility to be more specific in their jobs. However, I think that a broad education has some advantages for two important reasons.

First, in a broad education we can teach students to think integrated with other areas. Normally, when someone has a health problem, is building his house, or is facing a technical issue in an equipment, it is never an unique situation or solution. By teaching people during their graduation to exercise an holistic thinking, they can put all pieces together, such as a puzzle, and achieve their target. Customers or patients feel more confident when they realize that the professional who is working for them, has a wide knowledge. In my experience, as a veterinarian, my clients like when I can make a connection between their dairies and an economic situation, which provides them more information to make a decision.

Secondly, when a student has a non-specific education, he will be prepared to solve problems easier. Honestly, it is more natural to solve a problem, such as a disease, when you think with a broad spectrum of view. Nevertheless, students need to study and understand more than one subject during their graduation, to get this knowledge. As an example, a doctor should understand about psychological problems, to diagnose a disease related to our imunne system because we can be sick if we have a stressful problem.

To conclude, a broad educational system can be more interesting for the population. With doctors, veterinarians, or lawyers with a wide knowledge on their careers, universities can provide a better professional for our community.