Some people believe that being far away from those we care about is necessary for us to understand the importance of our relationship. Others believe that spending time with those we care about as much as possible can help develop our relationship. Which do you agree with and why?

Whether being far away from those we care about is necessary for people to realize the importance of friendship arouses a heated debate. Some people agree with the statement, while others argue that spending more time with those we care about as much as possible is a better method to strengthen relationships. As far as I am concerned, I maintain that the second approach is better. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, frequently interacting with people is an ideal way to develop relationships, and spending more time with them can increase the chances to interact with them. For instance, I tried to maintain a good relationship with my college roommates by asking them out for dinner, singing karaoke together, etc. Since I had plenty of interaction with my roommates, we often discuss random topics including diabolically difficult calculus problems and how terrible some professors' teaching styles were. Through gossiping, I sustained a good friendship with my friends, and we were still friends even after we graduated for one year. On the other hand, I left my hometown, Hualien City, to study in Taipei City, but I only texted my best friend, Jammy, once per month. In other words, I did not have considerable opportunities to exchange our college life, discuss new video games, etc. Consequently, our friendship did not last for three months after I moved out due to the lack of interaction between us. So apparently, lacking communication with people cannot help us develop relationships.

In addition, in order to develop a steady friendship, understanding each other is inevitable. Nevertheless, staying far away from people who you love cannot facilitate people in understanding each other. Take my cousin, Todd, as an example. Todd met his Japanese girlfriends on Tinder, but he currently works in the U.S. Therefore, he could only communicate with his girlfriends via Skype or Jitsi. Unfortunately, since they did not meet each other in real life, my cousin, who happened to dislike cigarettes a lot, did not realize that his girlfriend smoked two packs of cigarettes every day. Therefore, once they meet physically my cousin was exceptionally disappointed by her bad habit. Eventually, my cousin's relationship with his girlfriend did not last for a month after realizing her smoking habit. Contrarily, my sister met her boyfriend at a college computer programming course, and they often discuss programming languages, mathematics, and algorithms together. Since my sister met her boyfriend in person, she knew that her boyfriend did not have any bad habits that she could not endure. As a result, she maintained a steady relationship with her boyfriend till now.

In conclusion, I believe that spending more time with people we care about as much as possible is a more favorable way, considering the aforementioned reasons and examples. After all, the best ways of ensuring a longer relationship are frequently communicating with people and understanding each other.