“When people succeed, it is because of hard work. Luck has nothing to do with success.” Do you agree or disagree with the quotation above? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

I disagree with the statement. To be more specific, I think that luck has a lot to do with success due to the thee reasons mentioned below.

First, success means having an ideal job to most adults, and people who are lucky enough to be born in a wealthy family have a better chance to succeed than those who were born in a poor family. For instance, I have a friend called Jammy who is born in an affluent family. To be more specific, he is the son of a famous IT company’s CEO. Consequently, he plays video games all the day and joins different parties every week. Besides, he only studies three hours per week. Yet, since his father is the CEO, after his father retired, he will definitely be the next CEO of the company. Hence, it is obvious that people who are born in a prestigious family have a better chance to succeed without paying too much effort.

Secondly, success means attending a good college to students, and people who are lucky enough to avoid tragedy when taking the exam have a higher probability to succeed. Take my friend Jane as an example. Jane studied for eight to ten hours every day because she wanted to become a doctor. However, she got a flu during the college entrance exam. Consequently, she performed extremely terrible in her exam. As a result, she could only enter an average university. Nonetheless, my cousin Chris was lucky in his exam. To be more specific, many problems that he studied two weeks before the exam had appeared in the test. Accordingly, he could attend a prestigious college with average reading skills.

Finally, success means making good friends to most high school students, and people who are lucky enough to meet a lot of good people have a higher chance to make good friends. For instance, many students make friend with the classmate who sat next to him. So, suppose the person who sat next to the kind, hard-working student is a thief, gang member, or even drug dealer. Then, if the hard-working student made friends with him, he might also turned bad and went astray. However, if the student is also a hard-working one. Then after they made acquaintance with each other, they could learn lots of knowledge and experiences from each other, become study partners, and enter a high-class university together.