"When people succeed, it is because of hard work. Luck has nothing to do with success." Do you agree or disagree with the quotation above? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

When people talk about what makes a person successful, it is inevitable to mention both hard work and luck. While a lot of winners in life claim that they have achieved their accomplishment solely through hard work, others may include luck as part of their success. In my opinion, I incline to the view that luck does play an important role under certain circumstance.

First of all, nobody can deny that hard-working attitude and all-in commitment are the most critical determinants contributing to one’s success. As is known, even luck favors those who have been prepared well. That is to say, hard work is the premise of luck. For example, Yao Ming was really blessed to be born in a family with a basket tradition passing from generation to generation. However, without his own efforts made to reach excellence, he wouldn’t have been playing in NBA for so many years and proved himself as one of the most dominating players. Nowadays, there are many young basketball players who are just as talented as Yao, but lack his ambition and endeavor to become outstanding, they make a mistake by overestimating their innate ability rather than focusing on being diligent, thus failing everyone’s expectation.

However, luck does help people when something unexpected happens and benefits the hard worker. Given that such random probability gets rid of the obstacle getting in the way, it may become easier for people to succeed. Another famous athlete, Li Na, can be a good example of how luck may be in favor of a competitive person. What distinguishes Li Na from other Chinese tennis players is that she won two trophies in two of the four most important tennis tournaments in the world. Although Li’s own talent and effort should not be underestimated, in fact, she had never competed with the Williams sisters in the final matches because they were eliminated in the previous rounds of the tournaments. So, in a way, the fact the her biggest competitors lost their games could be seen as a huge boost in her course of winning the championship. Again, she still had to beat the rest of the top players before finally being awarded the title.

In short, I strongly believe that luck won’t be helpful at all if nothing has been done to make a person proficient and skilled. However, once an individual does whatever he or she could for success, there are chances that luck might give this person a head start.